Posted by: Brad Beaman | March 4, 2008

This Is My Story

                                                          mountians.jpg

When I was a junior in college at Indiana University I went to a meeting about business leadership principles. The claim from those holding the meeting was that 95% of business leaders do not know the principles of leadership that will be taught at the meeting. I was studying business as a major in college and this meeting interested me.

When I arrived at the meeting there were some surprises for me regarding how the topic was presented. The first point of emphasis in the meeting was; God loves you and has a wonderful plan for your life. Now I did not mind hearing that God loves me, but I did not expect that God’s love is the business leadership principle that only 5% of business leaders know.

The next principle was even more surprising to hear at a business leadership meeting. It was that God intended to have fellowship with me, but because of my sin the fellowship that God intended is broken. I am separated from God, deserving the punishment of death. Now if God’s love was not what I expected at a business leadership meeting then hearing about my sin was even further from what I would expect at this meeting.

I must say that I heard of this meeting at a student Christian meeting. I did not expect that this meeting which they said was on business leadership principles was another meeting about spiritual things, but it did make more sense given the context of who was hosting the meeting and where I heard about it. I was already interested in knowing more about God at that time for several reasons.

A friend of mine who had served as the president of the fraternity I lived in had a dramatic change. Although he was intelligent and a “straight A” student when I met him he was very worldly and did not acknowledge God at all. His life was dramatically changed however and he claimed that Jesus had changed his life. It was one of a number of things that happened just about that time that grabbed my attention and made me question my belief that there is no God.

At one time during high school I was getting in a lot of trouble. It was at this time my parents forced me to go to church. Ironically it was at a church service in high school when I became an atheist and decided that God was not real. I came to the conclusion that everything came into existence through a natural evolution and that there was no God. My conclusion was that the Bible, spirituality and religion were superstitions. I thought that this life was all there was and to maximize what we get out of life there is no time for spiritual things.

But now I was not so sure of my conclusions about God. This friend who was so intelligent and had been so wild and so far from anything Christian had something happen to change him dramatically. This and other similar type occurrences happening all around me caused me to reconsider if God really existed. All of these events were pointing me to Jesus Christ.

At this time I began to consider spiritual things. By the end of my sophomore year of college I attended Bible studies led by my friend who had this recent spiritual experience and was now teaching about Jesus Christ and how Jesus changed his life. That summer I continued my spiritual pursuit by reading the Bible and sometimes going to church. By the start of my junior year my friend who had led the Bible studies I attended had moved on from college. I was still very open to spiritual things and by now I did believe that God exists. That is why I was attending the Christian meeting that advertised the business leadership principles. That is why I was not offended that the “business leadership” meeting was about Jesus Christ and spiritual things.
The next principle shared at the meeting focused on the cross. They explained that God is holy and just and must punish sin. Romans 3:23 says: “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” The punishment for sin is death. My sin has separated me from God. That is what I deserve for my sin, death and eternal separation from God.
God is just and must punish sin, but God is also merciful. He sent His son Jesus Christ to pay the penalty on the cross for my sins. That is why Jesus died on the cross. Romans 6:23 says: “For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” He paid the price for my sin on the cross.
I was very happy that I had attended the meeting. When the meeting was about to break they asked us to go out and share what we learned today with two people. We would then meet back in the afternoon and talk about what happened when we shared this with others. At lunch I shared this with two of my friends who had not attended the meeting.

My friend and I did not go back that afternoon because we had a Christmas dance in our fraternity house that night and we needed to get ready for that. But my friend asked me if I shared what we learned that day with two people like they asked us to. I said yes I did and I noticed that he was very surprised that I shared this. Then he asked me, “When did you make the commitment to Jesus Christ.”

The last point of the meeting had not really sunk in for me yet. The last point was that it is not enough to know all of this intellectually. You must put faith in Jesus Christ in order for his death on the cross to count for you.

I had no answer form my friend. I could not think of a time I had put my faith in Jesus Christ. I was not opposed to doing this, but I never had done this. That afternoon, before the Christmas dance, right there in the fraternity house I prayed a prayer putting my faith in Jesus Christ. I asked God to forgive me of my sins and I asked Jesus to come into my heart, make me a new person and give me eternal life.

That night I talked with my date at the Christmas dance about Jesus. She too had just come to realize that we all need to put our faith in Jesus Christ. That night we talked about the joy of having a personal relationship with God through Jesus Christ.

After I asked Jesus to come into my life I experienced a new joy that I had not known before. One professor of the university asked my friends what happened to me to bring a change in me. I seemed happier now to him. It was my faith in Jesus Christ that was making a noticeable difference in my life. That faith in Jesus Christ still continues to bring peace and joy to me after all these years. I now have the spiritual peace that I will spend eternity with God in heaven.

Leave a Reply

Categories

