Posted by: Brad Beaman | August 10, 2011

The Floodgates of Heaven

A pastor who did not excel in math made a concession with his congregation. Please tithe he asked, but if you just can’t afford to give 1/10 can you at least give 1/5. He may not have realized that he just said if you can’t afford to give ten percent then at least give twenty percent.

There was, accidently of course, some profound truth in what he said. You can’t afford not to give a tithe to the Lord. And when you do give abundantly out of a grateful heart to the Lord, look out the floodgates of heaven are opened to pour out a blessing.

We all want to experience the blessings of God. What a great word picture that God throws open the floodgates of heaven and pours out his blessing on those who are givers.  God’s desire is to open the floodgates of heaven and pour blessing into your life.

Malachi 3:6-12

  6 “I the LORD do not change. So you, O descendants of Jacob, are not destroyed. 7 Ever since the time of your forefathers you have turned away from my decrees and have not kept them. Return to me, and I will return to you,” says the LORD Almighty.

   “But you ask, ‘How are we to return?’

 8 “Will a man rob God? Yet you rob me.

   “But you ask, ‘How do we rob you?’

   “In tithes and offerings. 9 You are under a curse—the whole nation of you—because you are robbing me. 10 Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it. 11 I will prevent pests from devouring your crops, and the vines in your fields will not cast their fruit,” says the LORD Almighty. 12 “Then all the nations will call you blessed, for yours will be a delightful land,” says the LORD Almighty.

Let’s look at the Biblical background of the tithe. It begins with Abraham in Genesis 14 and it was 450 years before the law came through Moses. Abraham gave a tithe to Melchizedek a king who although we do not know that much about him is compared to Jesus in the New Testament. Abraham gave a tithe to acknowledge God’s sovereignty in everything.

Abraham’s grandson Jacob Genesis 28:22 saw God, who said, “I am the Lord” in the event we call Jacob’s ladder. God spoke a promise of giving land, decedents and a blessing.  After Jacob’s experience with God he vowed to give a tithe of all he would get.

God incorporated tithing into the Old Testament system of Law. “‘A tithe of everything from the land, whether grain from the soil or fruit from the trees, belongs to the LORD; it is holy to the LORD.” Leviticus 27:30. One tenth belongs holy to the Lord.

  Deuteronomy 14:22-23

 22 Be sure to set aside a tenth of all that your fields produce each year…….so that you may learn to revere the LORD your God always

Malachi 3:10

10 Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.

Jesus condemned the Pharisees for lacking justice, faith and mercy, the inward attitudes of the heart that tithing out of love for God produce, but he told them to keep tithing.

   23 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices—mint, dill and cummin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law—justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former.  Matthew 23:23

Before the law patriarchs such as Abraham and Jacob practiced tithing. Tithing was commanded by Moses and the Old Testament Law. The people were exalted to tithe by the prophets, Malachi. Jesus commended tithing and said it should be done; making sure it is accompanied by the right attitude of the heart.

 For believers today tithing is worship. It reminds us that God is sovereign owner of all and we are stewards. God opens the windows of heaven to those that trust God with his promise. If you give him first one tenth He will be faithful to supply all your needs when you live on the remaining nine tenths. The negative side is that those who disobey and do not give to the Lord are cursed. Vs 9  

The tithe is the starting point. Then pray about giving above the tithe. Those who tithe and give about the tithe have a testimony and will tell you how God has opened the floodgates of heaven in their lives. The tithe is the beginning.

I worked in production planning for Quaker Oats. I love the story the founder of Quaker Oats Henry Crowell.    Henry P. Crowell contracted tuberculosis when a boy and couldn’t go to school. His Father and brother died of TB and he should have died of it too. He made a contract with God. If he were spared he would use his abilities to amass large sums of money for evangelism. For the next 50 years he dedicated 70% of his income to kingdom causes. He bought a bankrupt mill in Ravenna, Ohio in 1881. He believed that God endowed him with bold ideas and the success of the company he founded, Quaker Oats.

He was one of the wealthiest men of Chicago when he died in 1943. Crowell viewed all things as a stewardship from God, including influence. Over the years, one businessman after another would comment on how he came to know Christ personally because of the life of integrity lived by Henry Parsons Crowell. Henry Parsons Crowell was a man who saw the floodgates of heaven opened in his life.

When I was a seminary student I was living off my savings (that I earned from Quaker Oats) and was making $150 per month. I pledged to give $100 per month nearly 70% of my income. My savings were going down. That semester I was awarded the highest dollar scholarship they offered that extended through all my seminary studies. God opened the floodgates of heaven and blessed me.

Take a step of faith and trust the Lord in giving a tithe and beyond. Don’t miss the blessing of God who desires to open the floodgates of heaven in your life.   

Malachi 3:10

 Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.

The church is the storehouse where you bring your tithe. Regular weekly gifts as a reminder of God’s provision in everything.  Paul new the tithe was what would be assumed in Corinth when he said to them:  “On the first day of every week each one of you is to put aside and save, as he may prosper, so that no collections be made when I come.”  1 Corinthians 16:2

God already owns everything, but when we tithe we are blessed. God can open the floodgates like he multiplied the loaves and the fishes.  Where your treasure is that is where your heart is also Jesus said. Prayerfully consider what tithing and giving beyond the tithe could mean to your own walk with the Lord. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty.

Responses

  1. Hi Brad,

    Not quite sure how scriptural some of the claims you make in your post are. You are making a lot of assumptions as you promote this doctrine in the New Testament church. Abraham and Jacob DID NOT practise tithing. Abraham’s tithe was tribute to an earthly king and it was a one time event. We never see any scriptural record that Abraham ever tithed from his personal possessions. Scripture never tells us if Jacob ever paid the vow he promised God. So to say both Abraham and Jacob practised tithing is unfounded.

    Why we keep using Malachi 3 as proof that today’s church should carry on the practise of tithing is way beyond me. Malachi 3 was Deuteronomy 28 reiterated. This clearly spoke about tithing in the law. The storehouse mentioned in Malachi is the church? It was not even the temple how can it be the church?

    It would e nice if you could provide scriptures that say we of the New Testament should give a 10% minimum as you have asserted that it is supposed to be the starting point of our giving. You are trying to put new wine into old wineskins; grace and law never mix.

    God bless.

    • Hi eliteinchrist,

      In regards to your thought that:

      Scripture never tells us if Jacob ever paid the vow he promised God.

      Jacob paid that vow! From that time Jacob had his true experience with God at “Jacob’s ladder” he was a changed man.

  2. what you wrote is true,i agree with it fully.i study the word daily.just this week,i have been studing this very subject.keep up the good work.

  3. 6 years ago I was broke and homeless, I was ready to end it all, I walked into a Catholic church in a strange town where nobody knew me, thankfully I was all alone in the prayer room weeping so hard. I walked up to a statue of Jesus and laid my head and my hands at his feet and I made a vow to give at least 10% of my take home pay for the rest of my life if he would come into my life and save me and please open doors for work. I had 3 weeks unemployment left, I had a resume made and emailed it to every oil/gas company I could think of. A month later I got a call to work in Kentucky on a project that paid me over 2400.00 a week gross. I started tithing immediately every check. That was the biggest tithe check I had ever given in my life. I was getting paid every 2 weeks and my take home was around 4,000.00 every 2 weeks. After about 2-3 months of tithing, I stopped giving,,I always had put 5.00 or 10.00 or 2.00 in the basket whenever I did attend church and here I was writing checks for 400.00 or more every 2 weeks. The devil was telling me that I was giving away a house payment or new truck payment every month and I was a fool to give away that much money. I stopped giving for 2 months, and I was being convicted deep down inside by the Holy Spirit. I had a made a VOW for the rest of my life and I was breaking it. My guts were killing me with guilt. I immediately started tithing again and have not missed one check since, that was over 5 years ago and I make over 100,000.00 a year now.!!! True Story.!!! Don’t take my word for it.!!! Just try it for 2-3 months and see what happens.!!!! God Bless You.!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

