Posted by: Brad Beaman | January 8, 2012

There’s a Rainbow on my back

 

You may wonder why I where white
Why you never see me wearing black
And why there seems to be such joy
There is a reason for the outlook that I have
It is about hope for the poor and beaten down
Let the poor say I am rich, feeding their souls on our Lord
I wear the rainbow for the captives set free
Where the Spirit of the Lord is there is liberty.
I wear the rainbow for those who hear the good news of great joy.
And who have listened to the words that Jesus said.
Who hear because of the beautiful feet that are sent out.
For all who have said, Here I am send me.
There has been total depravity since the fall I do suppose
And it is sad but true that materialism grows
But so we are reminded of the abundant life for those who believe
Someone needs to wear a rainbow on his back.

I wear it for the village who had no church
For now that place that has been transformed in Christ
I wear the rainbow for the lives that have been changed
Each week the mustard seed is becoming the strong tree
I wear it for the millions who have found new life in Christ
Believing in Jesus to save them from their sins
Well, there is much in this world that is not right
But people change everywhere His faithful go and shine the light
Now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation
Spread the news that Jesus Christ has come
But I will try to put a light on a hill
The night comes, but as long as it is day we must share hope
If only for this life we have hope in Christ, then I will wear black
But as long as there is hope in Jesus Christ
I’ll where a rainbow on my back

 

Johnny Cash has a different take on it.


 

Man in Black

Well, you wonder why I always dress in black
Why you never see bright colors on my back
And why does my appearance seem to have a somber tone
Well, there’s a reason for the things that I have on
I wear the black for the poor and the beaten down
Livin’ in the hopeless, hungry side of town
I wear it for the prisoner who is long paid for his crime
But is there because he’s a victim of the times
I wear the black for those who’ve never read
Or listened to the words that Jesus said
About the road to happiness through love and charity
Why, you’d think He’s talking straight to you and me
Well, we’re doin’ mighty fine, I do suppose
In our streak of lightnin’ cars and fancy clothes
But just so we’re reminded of the ones who are held back
Up front there ought to be a Man In Black

I wear it for the sick and lonely old
For the reckless ones whose bad trip left them cold
I wear the black in mournin’ for the lives that could have been
Each week we lose a hundred fine young men
And I wear it for the thousands who have died
Believin’ that the Lord was on their side
I wear it for another hundred thousand who have died
Believin’ that we all were on their side
Well, there’s things that never will be right I know
And things need changin’ everywhere you go
But ’til we start to make a move to make a few things right
You’ll never see me wear a suit of white
Ah, I’d love to wear a rainbow every day
And tell the world that everything’s okay
But I’ll try to carry off a little darkness on my back
Till things are brighter, I’m the Man In Black

Responses

  1. I like Brad’s rainbow on his back because it is God’s promise that He will never destroy the earth by a flood again. Also, I like the man in white because God is light and He dwells in light vs the enemey who represents darkness.

    I beleive there is market for the T-shirt here in NYC. I am sure the Occupy Wallstreet crowd would all buy one. If you want I could get some quotes and we start a Man in White brand to help the poor of India.

    May God bless you as you are a servant to the rich and poor of India. I hope to do a Miracle Festival/Leadership Conference in Lahore, PK April 25-29, 2012. Please pray because we will need $5000 for the budget.


Leave a Reply

Categories

