Posted by: Brad Beaman | April 12, 2012

Portrait of Adalaj

I have seen numerous advertisements for Gujarat tourism with the slogan “Breathe in a bit of Gujarat”. The Amitabh Batchchan advertisements worked on me and I felt compelled to go breath in a bit of Gujarat or more specifically in this case to breathe in a bit of Adalaj. This “Portrait of Adalaj” was from my experience of breathing in a bit of Gujarat.

The step well in Ahmedabad (north near Gandhinagar) was built by Ruda, wife of the Vaghela chief, Virsinh is an amazing stone architectural wonder built with interlocking stone and no cement.

The “Vavas” or step wells have seven stories.

Step wells were the air conditioned malls of their day. It was the place to gather, lodge and hang out and escape the heat.

These step wells would store water for times of drought.

The step well was built in 1498. Think about it. In 1492 Columbus sailed the ocean blue. In 1498 the work was started on the Adalaj gate.

This is me breathing in a bit of Adalaj.

Amitabh Batchchan at the Adalaj Step Well

Amitabh Bachchan at Adalaj

Responses

  1. Love the black and white photos. India has some great architecture for sure. I wasn’t able to visit Gujarat on my last visit to India, but I’ll certainly consider it for next time. Your post reminded me about a recent trip to Amber Fort which I also have a post about. If you’re interested, I attached the link below. Thanks for sharing. Cheers.
    http://bespoketraveler.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/amber-fort/

  2. Nice snaps of Adalaj…..and its really good to hear that the visits are due to Amitabh Bachhan and his advertisements.


Leave a Reply

Categories

