Posted by: Brad Beaman | April 1, 2013

Tracing Sambaji’s Steps

As I have visited various sites in Pune and around Maharashtra and India I realized that I have been in many of the places with Sambaji history.

Sambaji 1657-1689

Sambaji 1657-1689

One of my favorite places to visit for cycling and treking is Purandar Fort the birthplace of Sambhaji.

Purandar Fort

Purandar Fort

Sambaji’s coronation was at the Panhala Fort near Kholapur

Panhala Fort

Murud Janjir, Battle site of Sambaji and Siddis.

Murud-Janjira Siddi Fort

Murud-Janjira Siddi Fort

When I realized I had been to Sambaji’s birth and coronation places I became deliberate about it and visited Sambaji’s death place too: Tulapur.

Image

I visited Agra the place of Sambaji’s captivity. Must get to Raighad Fort when I can.

Leave a Reply

Categories

