Posted by: Brad Beaman | February 7, 2014

Kathotiya Rock Paintings Photo Essay

I had a fun time exploring Kathotiya today morning.
Bhopal
This was my guide Vijay Kathotiya.
Kathotiya Guide
I would have missed a lot without Vijay’s guidance.

Kathotiya Vijay
He threw a rock down there to warn the snakes and Lungar monkeys etc. The rock went down and down before hitting bottom.

Kathotiya ridge
Then Vijay went down too so I just followed him.

Kathotiya cave
I was ready to see the rock paintings.

Kathotiya paintings
The rock paintings are from the Paleolithic age claimed to be 17,000 years old.

Kathotiya wall

There are different color painting, red is one of the colors.

Kathotiya red painting

White rock painting.

Kathotiya white

Kathotiya is mainly a Bhil Tribe area. Actually the Bhils live in the jungle area outside the village. Painting Kathotiya

Feel the breeze!

Kathotiya breeze

Cycle rental in a remote Bhil village. That is what I’m talking about!

Kathotiya cycle

I was served local Badari fruit with my chai.
Kathotiya chai

Back to Kathotiya for a overnight tent camping later?

Responses

  1. Ioved your blog and want to mention your name in my next article in Times Of India . with your permission may i

  2. please give your contact no.


Leave a Reply

Categories

